Glutino Gluten Free Cherry Breakfast Bars - 5 x 1.4 oz Bars (200g)
Glutino Gluten Free Cherry Breakfast Bars are made with cherries, these tender bars can be savored on the go. Trans fat free, cholesterol free, dairy free and a good source of fiber, how can you resist. These bars come in a box that contains 5 bars and they are individually wrapped to bring to school, work, or on vacation.
- Gluten And Wheat Free
- Egg, Casein, and Milk Free
- Trans Fatty Acids Free
- Cholesterol Free
- Low Fat
Glutino & Gluten Free Pantry is a manufacturer and distributor specializing in gluten free products. These days nearly everyone is on a restricted diet of one sort or another. However, one of the biggest surprises is that nearly 3 million people in the United States have Celiac Disease and that it is one of the most under-diagnosed diseases in the Country.
Celiac Disease came to the forefront last year when the National Institutes of Health (NIH) convened a panel of experts to present the scientific evidence about celiac disease. This 3-day meeting led to the NIH Consensus Report, which concluded that as many as one in every 100 Americans may suffer from this disease. Celiac Disease is a digestive disorder that is triggered by eating the protein, gluten, which is found in the grains wheat, rye and barley. Thereis no cure for the disease, but it can be controlled through strict avoidance of foods that contain gluten. The increased recognition of Celiac Disease means that thousands of people with those symptoms may finally get the right test and the right treatment.
With a full line of more than 60 gluten-free meals, snacks, breads, mixes and more to choose from, there's a best-selling product to be enjoyed at every meal, family celebration or even as a snack on the run. In fact, Glutino's gluten-free products are so tasty, it's often impossible to tell the difference compared to their traditional made-with-gluten versions. You can finally enjoy the foods you crave for breakfast, lunch, dinner and anything in between without fear of food allergies.
Celiac Disease & Your Health
What is Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease is a digestive disease that damages the small intestine and interferes with absorption of nutrients from food. People who have celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten, a protein in wheat, rye, and barley.
When people with celiac disease eat foods or use products containing gluten, their immune system responds by damaging or destroying villi-the tiny, fingerlike protrusions lining the small intestine. Villi normally allow nutrients from food to be absorbed through the walls of the small intestine into the bloodstream. Without healthy villi, a person becomes malnourished, no matter how much food one eats.
What are the symptoms?
Symptoms vary from person to person, which can make celiac disease even more challenging to diagnose. These symptoms will occur after eating foods containing gluten. In some cases, the symptoms are severe, while others don't even notice the symptoms. Symptoms include:
- Weight loss
- Abdominal swelling and bloating
- Abdominal cramps
- Muscle cramps
- Joint pain
- Skin rash
Celiac disease has been linked to other health-related problems including:
- Type 1 Diabetes
- Thyroid Disease
What are the causes of celiac disease?
Celiac disease is both a disease of malabsorption - meaning nutrients are not absorbed properly - and an abnormal immune reaction to gluten. Celiac disease is genetic, meaning itruns in families. Sometimes the disease is triggered-or becomes active for the first time-after surgery, pregnancy, childbirth, viral infection, or severe emotional stress.
How is it diagnosed?
If you suspect you have celiac disease, consult your doctor as only he or she can confirm the diagnosis. Your physician will review your medical history with you, and ask about family members who have celiac disease, and the symptoms you have been experiencing and the length of time. Next, they will do a thorough physical exam. Then your physician will likely request a blood test to check levels of specific antibodies related to celiac disease. Sometimes a physician will also do an endoscopy and test a small piece of the small intestine to determine if there was any damage to villi lining the small intestine. After the examination and tests,the doctor will recommend a gluten-free diet be followed. It is important for a patient to strictly adhere to this gluten-free diet. Within a few days, symptoms should subside and any damage done to the small intestine will begin healing.
What is the treatment?
The only treatment for celiac disease is a gluten-free diet. There are still plenty of delicious foods you can eat including rice, potato, corn, tapioca, quinoa, fresh fruits and vegetables, eggs and much more. Common foods to avoid when eating gluten-free include, but are not limited to wheat, durum, wheat germ, semolina, rye, triticale, barley, spelt, breaded or coated foods, pasta, breads and soy sauce.
It is important to remain on a gluten-free diet for the rest of your life completely eliminating gluten from your diet. A person with celiac disease cannot digest gluten, so if you continue to eat it the damage to your intestine continues and prevents it from healing properly.
What is the difference between celiac disease, a wheat allergy, and gluten intolerance?
While the "treatment" of following a gluten-free diet is the same for all three conditions, they are a bit different. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease; a person cannot digest gluten and the immune system responds by destroying the villi that line the small intestine. When a person with a wheat allergy digests wheat/gluten, symptoms include wheezing, lip swelling, stomach pains, gas, diarrhea or a rash, but there is no damage to the villi. Similar to lactose intolerance, symptoms of gluten intolerance include gas, stomach pains, and diarrhea but there is no damage to the small intestine.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What is glucono delta-lactone?
A. Glucono delta-lactone is a naturally occurring food additive used as a leavening agent.
Q. Does glucono delta-lactone have dairy in it as it is lactone?
A. No, it does not contain dairy and should not be confused with lactose.
Q. My son/daughter has PKU and is not allowed to have protein. Why don't you label the product with the exact protein level?
A. By regulation they have to state to the nearest gram. Their co-packers don't always give us the exact amount, so they are unable to do so.
Q. What does "may contain traces of" mean?
A. They state "may contain traces of" on their packaging if there is a risk of cross contamination with one of the 8 top allergens.
Q. I always buy yourgluten-free crackers and frequently over 50% are broken.
A. They are aware of the problem and understand this is frustrating for their customers. Their logistics department is looking into a solution. They are happy to send you a coupon to replace your crackers. Please include the date on the box so they can report it to their quality control department.
Q. I bought a package of your Favorite Sandwich Bread/French Bread and Pizza Mix and there is no yeast packet in it.
A. They are sorry to hear that you are missing your package of yeast in your bread mix. This does happen from time to time because the yeast packet is put in manually. They would be happy to send you a coupon as well as a packet of yeast to you. Please include the date on the box so they can report it to their quality control department.
Q. Are there tree nuts or peanuts in your facility?
A. That depends on the facility. There are no nuts in the facility that produces the mixes, breads, crackers, breakfast bars, and frozen meals. There are nuts in the facility that produces the chocolate bars, wafers, cookies, organic bars, cereals, breadsticks and pretzels.
Q. Are your gluten-free products GMO-free and why can't you mark this on the package?
A. Some of their products are GMO-free. However, they are not allowed to label it on the package because it is not regulated in North America.
Q. Are any of their products organic?
A. Yes, their Chocolate Peanut Butter Organic Bars, Chocolate Banana Organic Bars and Wildberry Organic Bars are organic.
Q. Are their mixes dairy and casein free?
A. Allof the Gluten-Free Pantry mixes are dairy and casein free except the Favorite Sandwich Bread and the Pancake and Waffle mix.
Q. Are any of your breads, bagels or English muffins dairy and casein free?
A. All the premium breads are dairy and casein free. Their English muffins and bagels are not dairy and casein free.
Q. How do you read your expiration dates?
A. Their dates are read by day/month/year in this fashion: 05JAN11 or 05012011.
Q. How do you store your breads and bagels?
A. Because their breads and bagels do not contain preservatives, they must be kept frozen at all times.
Q. The breads are very hard to get apart if they are frozen. What do you suggest?
A. Allowing their breads to defrost a bit will make separating them easier. Simply refreeze.
Q. When I make my GFP bread it always rises too much and comes out of the machine. Sometimes it is very hard. Why?
A. When making glutenfree bread, the secret is to only let the bread mix once and rise once. If your bread machine has a glutenfree setting you can use this or if you can program it then you can set it to mix once for approximately 18 minutes and rise once for 55 min. The baking should take about 55 minutes. If you let your bread mix twice and rise twice all the elasticity is being removed from the bread and it just becomes hard and will rise out of the machine.